eid again

I don’t know why there are two eids (revealing my shameful lack of engagement with the culture of my host country), I only know that I’m always thrilled to have a day off school and a long weekend that I can devote to nothing but writing. But my concentration has been pretty poor today. I don’t know why. Perhaps it’s because it’s the end of the school year and I’m exhausted. Or that I’ve spent almost a year redrafting a novel that I first started writing in 2004 and I’m sick of it. Or that the lure of the Internet is just too much to resist. I usually switch it off when I’m writing but unfortunately I’m at the stage now where I need to check words in dictionaries and thesauruses (thesauri?) and make sure that my devastatingly original turns of phrase are not actually cliches that 120,000 writers of fan fiction have used before me. (Sadly they often are.) Some days I can be super disciplined and not go near Facebook or email while I’m working but not today. But I read recently that even Nick Hornby, Dave Eggers, and Zadie Smith have Internet addictions, so at least I’m in good company.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

