bedside pile: top half

Image

From the bottom of the top: The Diary of Miss Idilia was a birthday present from a friend and has been on my bedside table for years. I will read it. And in case the aforementioned friend is reading this, I would hasten to point out that often books I have left to languish for ridiculous amounts of time before picking them up have gone on to become my favourites. Solzhenitsyn’s Cancer Ward and Ian McEwan’s Solar both fall into this category. Life of Pi is one of those books that I feel everyone in the world has probably read except me. I never fancied it because I think may contain animal characters, and I still don’t fancy it really but as explained yesterday, if you live in Borneo—land of no bookshops—and a colleague passes you a book, you take it. That is also the reason why I have Shogun, which I managed not to read during my fifteen years in Japan. Nine Lives is travel writing about India, which I will read on my return (yes, in case you didn’t read the previous post, I am going to India next week! So I don’t need to explain the presence of Lonely Planet India in the bedside pile). Ho Chi Min: A Life is a fantastic biography of my favourite Communist leader, bought after a trip to Vietnam earlier this year. A very easy read for a history book: I’m working my way through it slowly, interspersing it with bursts of fiction reading. And on the very top of the pile is my Kindle. I’ve just started This Is How You Lose Her by Junot Diaz, which I’m enjoying. You don’t often hear a Latino voice in modern American literature. And like it when men write about love.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

