something or nothing

There was an email in my inbox a couple of days ago from a small indie publisher I’d sent the revamped first novel to. The title of the email was the title of the novel, but there was no text. I was pretty sure it was because the publisher had forgotten to paste the standard rejection letter into the body of the email. But when I emailed her to check, she said that the email had been sent to me accidentally; she had been sending my submission to one of her readers. I don’t know if she sends all submissions to a reader or only ones that look promising. I don’t know if the reader will like the book. I don’t know if this is something or nothing. Let’s hope it’s something.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to something or nothing

  1. Margaret Marks says:

    Good luck, Cathy ! This could be it.

  2. cathy says:

    Thanks, Margaret!

  3. Barry says:

    Hi Cathy,

    Met Mio the other day for drinks in Shibuya and she mentioned your blog, so I thought I’d stop by and say hello. Hello, and hope all is well. My take on your blog post, after more years in publishing than I care to count? Your work leapt the first hurtle, whatever it was, otherwise she wouldn’t have sent it on to an outside reader. It’s what I did, and what other editors I know do when they are busy, like something, and want a second opinion to back up their initial good first impression. At least, the odds lean toward that version. Good luck!

    • cathy says:

      Hey Barry, great to hear from you, and thanks for the encouraging words! You’ve picked a bad time to subscribe to my blog because I’m going through a hellish busy phase and haven’t had time to do any of my own writing or blog about it. But I will be back, so hang on in there. I hear through the grapevine that you have had success with your own writing . . . that’s fantastic. Who needs KI?

Leave a Reply

