is there anybody there

Well, I don’t seem to have any readers at all, which is not surprising really for a blog with no posts at all, but just in case anyone is lurking out there, here is an update on the life of cathythewriter. 

On the writing front I have today entered a novel competition and a short memoir competition and submitted Module Three of the online short-story writing course I’m doing (and enjoying).

On the reading front, I’m making disciplined headway with my commuting consumption of classics. I’ve read Kafka’s Metamorphosis and Other Stories which was pretty fantastic and I’m now on Jane Austen’s Emma which is tedious in the extreme. Bedtime reading has recently included The Sea by John Banville (wonderful) and Souvenirs Pieux by Marguerite Yourcenar (difficult). As a special treat to myself for next week’s bank holiday weekend and my visit to Borneo I today downloaded Live at the Brixton Academy by Simon Parkes.

And there you have it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to is there anybody there

  1. louschmoo says:

    Aww Cathy, I’m reading!! You make me feel very uncultured though as my reading habits are not as literary as yours, although I was proud that I managed to read 40 books last year 🙂
    Good luck with your competitions and the writing course! Keep up the good work.

  2. Margaret Marks says:

    Sad to hear Jane Austen is out of favour, Cathy, or is it just Emma!
    Albeit her novels are not page-turners but she’s a shrewd observer of people of a certain class and their lives – not everyone’s cup of tea perhaps!

    You’re obviously kept busy with competitions and courses. I hope you do well in the first and enjoy the latter.

    Margaret

  3. cathy says:

    Great to hear from you, Margaret, hope you and Danny are both well. Definitely not enjoying Emma; it’s tedious because Emma isn’t just mistaken once in her judgement of other people’s motives, she’s mistaken EVERY time, over and over again. Miss Bates’ long rambling nonsensical monologues are amusing the first time, but they don’t need to be repeated every few chapters. She needs a good editor. They probably didn’t have them in the nineteenth century though, I’m guessing.

Leave a Reply

