blogger’s block

A few years ago I melodramatically threatened to kill this blog if I didn’t get anywhere in my quest to find an agent and a publisher. It ended up being more of a slow death than a killing, until a couple of weeks ago when my novel You’re Beautiful made the top four of the Bath Novel Award, out of more than one thousand entries. The wonderful Caroline Ambrose, founder of the award, is doing an amazing job of introducing me to agents, and this is the closest I’ve been to getting representation since my former agent passed away.  So ten days ago, I boldly announced that the blog would live again. Agents and publishers like an online presence, and my millions of future fans will be able enjoy my wit and wisdom on a regular basis. Also, I actually like blogging. I like the discipline of writing quickly and (hopefully) entertainingly. And I love talking about myself.

But I’ve been finding it incredibly hard to put finger to keyboard. I think I’m suffering from be-careful-what-you-wish-for syndrome. As I say in my interview for the Bath Novel Award (featuring one of the largest, warts-and-all-iest photos ever seen online), one of the biggest shocks about coming in the top four was that the first three chapters* of the novel were posted on the award website. For more than ten years now I’ve been telling myself and anyone else who’ll listen that my biggest goal in life is to become a published novelist, but finding an agent had become such a fruitless struggle that I’d stopped thinking about my writing as something that would one day be read by others. And now that day has come and it’s pretty terrifying. (*But see how brave I’m being.)

It’s kind of the same with the blog. I wrote for a couple of years about my journey to become a published novelist and I was followed by a handful of supportive friends. It was rather cosy. But now I have joined Twitter—because that is how writers network—and I am going to post links to all my blogs there, and who knows who will end up reading this? Maybe no one. But if you are a new random reader, please stick with me, and I’ll do my best to entertain you. The next few months could be a lot more exciting than the last few years have been.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to blogger’s block

  1. Margaret Marks says:

    Will stick with you, Cathy!

Leave a Reply

